Praise for Chaser: A Jinx Ballou Novel

chaser cover art“With Chaser, Dharma Kelleher breaks new ground and breaths new life into a great genre. Jinx Ballou is the best thing to happen to crime fiction since V. I. Warshawski.”
—Greg Barth, author of SELENA

“Dharma Kelleher has created one of the most unique characters in crime fiction. Bounty hunter Jinx Ballou is a creation of contrasting parts. She’s tough but compassionate, profane but sensitive, butch but feminineand there’s no dark alley she won’t walk down.
In Chaser, the only job she can get, after she’s outed as transgender in the press, brings her into the crosshairs of a murderous human trafficker nobody else would dare tangle with. Jinx takes the work and off we go on a thrilling ride that will have you turning pages into the wee hours of the morning!”
—Renee James, author of SEVEN SUSPECTS

The T in LGBT Crime Fiction Is No Longer Silent!!!

Headshot of Dharma Kelleher

Following on the success of her gritty Shea Stevens thriller series, author Dharma Kelleher breaks new ground as one of the top authors in transgender crime fiction with her new novel Chaser, the first in her Jinx Ballou series.

As both a reader and writer of thrillers, Dharma was searching for crime fiction that featured a transgender main character. But most transgender-focused novels were either coming out/transition stories, romances, or erotica. So Dharma decided to write her own, where the main character’s “trans-ness” shapes her experience of the world, but doesn’t define it.

In Jenna “Jinx” Ballou, Dharma has created a character who’s tough, resourceful, and smart. While Jinx is also transgender, the focus isn’t on her transition, but on her work  tracking down bail jumpers who will do anything to avoid going back to jail.

In Chaser, Jinx gets outed as transgender by the press and blackballed by the local bail bond industry. Desperate for work, she takes a job tracking down Holly Schwartz, a young woman accused of murder and who has skipped on a half-million dollar bail bond.

Problem is Jinx only has five days to find Holly, the trail’s gone cold, and one veteran bounty hunter has already given up the chase.

The search leads Jinx and her team into the orbit of a sadistic human trafficker suspected of kidnapping Holly. The pursuit quickly turns deadly and Jinx pushes her skills, her body, and her luck to the limit—not only to find her quarry and earn the big-dollar bounty, but also to stay alive.

Fans of Sara Paretsky, Michael Connelly, and Lawrence Block will enjoy this fast-paced novel brimming with fresh characters, witty dialogue, and twists and turns galore.

Learn more about this groundbreaking new novel.